Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day to all my readers who are mothers.  I hope you are all being loved on and appreciated today.

My family has been loving on me and spoiling me like crazy.  I feel very blessed.  The kids made me more birdhouses and we promptly hung them all up outside.  The violet green swallows immediately began inspecting them and deciding if they want to use them this year for their nests.

This bouquet is a tradition my husband has done for me since my first Mother’s Day.  There is a different type of flower to represent each child, and the number of that flower is how many Mother’s days I have been their mother.  So the two roses are for Mr. Smiles, then there are 8 irises for Braveheart, 11 of those pretty purple flowers along the bottom of the arrangement (I don’t know what type those are) for Little Miss, 13 carnations for Sunshine, and 15 daisies for Young Man.  So sweet!

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

    • I had to see if I could find the Latin name, and it’s a pretty name!
      “Matthiola incana, known as hoarystock, is a species of flowering plant in the genus Matthiola. The common name stock usually refers to this species, though it may also be applied to the whole genus. The common name “night-scented stock” or “evening-scented stock” is applied to Matthiola longipetala (syn. bicornis).”

      Like

Leave a Reply

