Time to Name the Family

We have been blogging here for almost 4 years now and I often contemplate giving my family blog names, but have never gotten to it.  Well I decided it was finally time to introduce you to my family and give them blog names.

Our Mountain Family

I am Mountain Mom.  My father started calling me that after I had my first baby and it has just stuck.  I am a homeschooling mom to 5 kids and a wife to my husband of 17 years.  I am a “country mouse” at heart and don’t like the city life.  I am often told I was born a century too late as I enjoy old-fashioned things and ways of doing things.  But I must admit – I do appreciate my electric washer, dryer, and dishwasher.  😉  I love being a mom and being able to stay home to raise and school my children.  I love livestock, gardening, and all the heritage arts we do around here – especially knitting.  I love living in the mountains and can’t even imagine myself living anywhere else.

My husband is Mountain Man.  He works hard to provide for our family by working outside the home, and also working to keep this little homestead running.  He loves the mountains as much as I do and has been hunting elk and deer for food since he was 14-years-old.  He is a true mountain man and could survive in the wild Rockies with very little if needed.  He is strong as an ox, but gentle and kind.

Oldest son is Young Man.  He is 13-years-old but is more responsible and logical than many 30-year-olds I know.  He is super helpful around the homestead and is the man-of-the-house when husband is gone.  I really miss his help when he is working with my husband off the homestead.  He is kind-hearted and caring of others, just like his father.

Oldest daughter is Sunshine.  She is 11-years-old and is the mini-mama of the house.  She has the most beautiful smile and lights up the room when she enters.  She loves to cook and bake and do anything kitchen related.  She can often be found trying a new recipe out.  Her favorite animals on the farm are the sheep, although our best broody hen, Eve, is her pet.  She enjoys working in the gardens and is an avid reader.  She is very crafty and enjoys the many heritage arts we do around here.

Youngest daughter is Little Miss.  She is my girlie girl and is 9-years-old now.  We often refer to her as the resident “chicken whisperer” because she has a way with the chickens.  They all flock to her (ha-ha) and allow her to catch and hold them.  She also really enjoys gardening and growing delicious fruits and veggies for the family.  Little Miss has an amazing gift with handiwork and began embroidery at 3 years of age.  She is already writing her own patterns for crocheted stuffed animals and doll clothing.  She also enjoys knitting, spinning, and weaving.

Middle son is Braveheart.  He comes by that name honestly as he had a rough start in life and continues to be courageous and loving through it all.  He is 8-years-old now and is full of energy.  If I had even half the energy he has I would be the most productive mother in the world.  He is always laughing and his laugh is contagious.  He likes working on anything and everything around the farm and is always willing to help with a happy heart.

Youngest son is Mr. Smiles.  He is almost a year old now.  He has kept smiling, and kept us all smiling despite all his many medical struggles in his short life.  I can’t wait to see how his personality blossoms as he grows and see him run around and enjoy the homestead with us all.

Leave a Reply

