Homestead Laundry and Other Miscellaneous Happenings

Everyone knows how important it is to check the pockets of your clothes before you wash them.  Homesteading can take that rule to a whole new level.  This morning I decided it was time to give the barn overalls and jackets a washing as the mud room was beginning to smell a bit too barn-like.  Thankfully, I checked the pockets because I found…an egg!  Can you imagine an egg going through the wash!?!?  I shudder to think.  Always check the pockets.

20150905_082204_resized

Husband and oldest son both filled their mule deer buck tags last weekend.  More meat in the freezer!  Game meat, and whatever meat we raise on the farm is all we eat anymore, except for the pig we buy each year from a local farm.  The last few years, with our family’s growing food needs as the children grow, and the fact that only husband could draw hunting licenses and they cut back the amount available in our area, we have run out of red meat sometime each summer and had to wait for hunting season to get more.  But now that oldest son can hunt as well we get twice as many tags and should have plenty of meat to last year round.  What a blessing!

Still a couple more tags to fill for this year and then our red meat needs will be met for the year.

Our buck meat rabbit is now mature enough to breed, so we bred him to one of our experienced does this week.  Hopefully he will prove to be a good breeding buck in a month or so when she kindles.

We spent much of last week in the hospital with our newest little one.  It was a very stressful time.  It is always hard when your children are having medical issues, but it seems especially hard when they are infants and you can’t explain to them that it will be better soon.  Anyway, during those long hospital days I was able to get a lot of knitting done.  It kept my hands busy when I had no control over anything and was very therapeutic.  I finished the Christmas present for my oldest daughter.  The pattern was Hitofude cardigan on ravelry and the yarn was Mary Maxim A Step Above in the colorway Forest Glen.  As always, the colorway is not showing up well in the photos at all.  So I added a photo of when I was blocking it and when I was knitting it because it shows the color better in those.

20151018_181343_resized 20151018_181427_resized 20150908_152310_resized

20151018_083618_resized

I found knitting this to be tedious and it seemed to take forever.  But I am very happy with the finished product.

I have Christmas presents left to knit for 3 of the 5 kids, plus a Christmas stocking for our new little blessing.  Better keep up the knitting or I’m not going to finish in time!

2 thoughts on “Homestead Laundry and Other Miscellaneous Happenings

  1. You are an amazing woman! I think I am busy, but then I read what you have been doing. 🙂
    We have 9 gardens, chickens, large yard, and a pup. I think we canned 130 jars this year, have deer, chicken, homemade sausage, veggies, and mini meals (made up for quick dinners) in our freezer. Plus did lots of dehydrating with apples, pears, herbs, hot peppers, green, and colored peppers, and tomatoes (that we lots! of). But I haven’t knitted for years… glad winter is coming so I can do my yarn stuff, and crafts!
    The sweater you made for your daughter is most beautiful! Great job.
    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!
    Karen

    Like

Leave a Reply

