The Jury is Back on Reinforcing Hand-Knit Socks

Over a year ago I posted about reinforcing socks to help prevent holes from forming so fast.  Click Here to read that post.

Remember these socks from that post?

photo 3

I made them for my oldest son for Christmas 2013.  My oldest son is a very active 11-year-old boy that loves his homemade socks and can wear holes in them in one week flat.  He wears his homemade socks any chance he gets.  Those were the first socks I ever reinforced, and I have reinforced every pair I have made since.  Here is a picture of those same socks today…after over a year of being worn:

photo 1

photo 2 (2)

NO HOLES!!!  I must admit I am pretty shocked.  I did not think they could survive like this.  It is very exciting.

Here are the insides:

photo 3 (2)

So I am completely sold on the usefulness of reinforcing and will continue to take the extra time to do it with all of our future socks.

Leave a Reply

