Sunday Homestead Update

It has been very busy around here this week and the coming week is looking to be the same.  There were several times I had in mind to sit down and write a post, but something always came up.  So I will sum it all up into the Homestead Update post today.

Cherries!

The wild cherries (choke cherries) that grow in our area are ripe so we went and picked some this week.  We made them into cherry cough syrup in prep for any winter illnesses that come our way, as well as cherry jelly.

We canned 6 pints of jelly:

photo 3 (38) photo 4 (32)

And 1 quart of cough syrup:

photo 5 (26)

photo (9)

Sweater Knitting

My first-ever sweater is coming along nicely.  It doesn’t look like much yet, but I am really excited about it.  Because I am making it through a class I have had to make time to knit and knit and knit because I have to have it to a certain point before each class.  But I am really having fun!

102_1494

Thunderheads

We have had some really beautiful thunderheads come through lately.  My camera never seems to be able to capture the detail and beauty the way my eyes see it, but I will leave you with one photo of one peeking through the trees.

photo 3 (36)

2 thoughts on “Sunday Homestead Update

  1. Cherries! Yum! Does the cough syrup taste as good as it looks? And that sweater yarn is gorgeous! What is it? Can’t wait to see it finished… maybe it will inspire me to finish my first sweater as well (barely cast on at this point).

    Like

    • The cough syrup tastes sweet and cherry but because of the herbs in it, it also tastes a little bit like what I imagine licking the bark of a cherry tree would taste like. 🙂
      The yarn is Coffee Beenz by Plymouth Yarn Company in the color wedgewood 9515. Hope you can get to your sweater!

      Like

Leave a Reply

