Finishing Socks to Start My First Sweater

I have decided to take the plunge and knit a sweater.  I have knit many things; hats, socks, mittens, scarves, headbands, and a boys vest.  But I have yet to do something big.  I like projects to be done relatively quickly so I get the satisfaction of the finished piece sooner.  I also have a bit of a fear of knitting an adult garment lest it doesn’t fit right after all the hard work.  If I mess up a garment for one of my kids, it will likely fit a different one of my kids.  So I have avoided sweaters.  But now it is time.  I want to learn to do sweaters.  And the perfect class became available.  It is an easy sweater class for experienced knitters but beginners with sweaters.  Perfect!

Knowing that I will be focusing all my knitting time on this sweater for the next month I decided I needed to finish the socks I have been working on so they didn’t continue to sit on the needles forever.  I started them way back in February, but put them aside after a few rows and didn’t pick them up again until about June.  Then, with summer craziness and thus very little time, I have slowly plugged away at them.

I finished them this week and am very happy with how they turned out.  They fit perfectly and are oh-so-comfy.  I knit them two-at-a-time on two circulars.  The pattern is “In Slipping Color” from the book Knitting More Circles Around Socks by Antje Gillingham, although I tweaked it a bit, and the yarn is Cascade 220 Superwash in the color Charcoal 900.

photo (7)

 

I did this same pattern a couple years ago but translated it to use dpns because I wasn’t using circulars at the time.  I liked it so much that I chose to do it again with this yarn.

I am glad to have them done, looking forward to wearing them this winter, and excited to move on to my first ever knit sweater!  I’ll let you know how it goes.

4 thoughts on “Finishing Socks to Start My First Sweater

  1. Beautiful socks!!! Love the pattern and the color!
    I’m working on knitting my first sweater, too. I did the back and now I’m working on the right front side and I’m almost 2/3rds of the way through with it. I thought I was doing fine, but I measured it against the back, and it is not matching up with the armhole. I’m going to have to revise the pattern or seek help. 😦 Hope you don’t run into a problem like mine…

    Like

  2. Love the socks. If you can do these, I’m sure the sweater will be a breeze. My mother-in-law gave me some lovely yarn and a pattern book with some sweaters in it. I’m very much a rookie at knitting. She and I agreed I should try something super simple and, if it doesn’t work out, at least it will be good to keep me warm when gardening. At least there’s no pressure! Then I developed carpal tunnel syndrome, had the surgery and my hand’s just back to healthy enough to take up knitting again. I’m very nervous, maybe your sweater attempt is the motivation I need.

    Like

Leave a Reply

