Homemade Cloth Napkins

When I first got into sewing clothing my husband gifted me a serger.  It has been such a huge blessing!  All these years I have wanted to make homemade cloth napkins with it, but it has never made it to the top of the to-do list.  Well, this week it finally made it to the top of the list!

I had purposefully saved some fabric from some curtains I made for the kitchen in our last house.  I love apple-themed items for my kitchen!

Since I was working with scrap fabric, and wanted to get the most out of it, there ended up being a few different sizes of napkins.  The smallest are 9×11, some are 12×12, and the biggest are 12×18.  The small ones are a great size for the kids, and the large ones work well for the adults.

First, I cut out two layers of the fabric using my circular cutter and my cutting mat.

photo 2 Next, with the two pieces lined up wrong-sides together, I did a three-strand rolled-hem down each side with my serger.

25

This left one thread tail on each corner.

20

I applied Fray Check to each corner and let it dry for 15 minutes.

19

Then I trimmed the tails off each corner, and I was done!

21They were so quick and easy to make!  I rolled them up and put them in a basket on the dining room table.

27

I got the Fray Check idea from a video online and I am hoping they hold up well to regular use.

My husband grew up in a home where everyday cloth napkins were used so he is very happy to have these, the kids are excited to try these “new items” out, and I am glad for the many paper towels and paper napkins we will save by using them.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Cloth Napkins

Leave a Reply

