Crochet Dish Scrubbies & a Giveaway….AGAIN

In an effort to dive back into normal life as much as possible, I am re-posting this again now.  I originally had it scheduled to post and it posted the first day of the disaster for us (with no power or wifi I had no way of stopping it since I had already scheduled it).  Then the drawing got canceled because of the disaster.  So I am re-posting it now.

Anyone who already commented on the last time I posted it will automatically be entered in the drawing and does not need to re-comment.  And this giveaway IS open to international readers as well.

Here it is, again…

We have begun work on our Christmas Homestead Baskets.  My youngest daughter decided she would do the dish scrubbies for the basket and I will do something else.  Yes, they are that easy, even a 6-year-old can successfully do them.  In fact, she did a few of the ones that will be in the photos in this post.  So if you are into, or even interested in, crochet, then you definitely need to try out making dish scrubbies, because they are fast, easy, and very useful.

I first found out about them about a year ago on a plane.  I sat next to a woman and I worked on some knitting.  She told me about how she made dish scrubbies for her whole family for Christmas each year and that they looked forward to getting their new ones each year.  I looked them up online and found a pattern, but I couldn’t find a local store that carried the netting. That’s when I found The Tulle Shed online.  They carry a ton of different colors of netting spools, tulle spools, and cotton yarn.  I was SO excited when I noticed they had starter kits too.  I thought a starter kit would be the best way to get myself going, so I purchased their Deluxe Crochet Scrubbie Kit.  It contained 2 spools of netting, one cut in half (making 1 1/2 inch strips) and one full (making 3 inch strips), a ball of coordinating yarn, a crochet hook, yarn needles, a netting spool holder, and three different scrubbie patterns.

2

It turned out that it was the perfect way to get started and it got me fully addicted to scrubbie making.  They are so fast and easy.  I love to be done with a project quickly so I can see the finished product.

So we decided my daughter would make scrubbies for the Homestead Baskets and we went online to pick what colors we wanted to do.  I like to make them with netting, which is the traditional way most people do it, but I also like to make them with tulle.  The tulle is obviously less scrubby, but I find it gives a finer scrubbing too, and is a bit gentler, in a good way.  So I use scrubbies made from both (not on the same scrubbie) on different things.  I also enjoy crocheting with the tulle better because it is gentler on my hands as I work. So we picked two different colors of yarn, one that coordinates with a netting, and one that coordinates with two different colors of tulle for our baskets.

40

41

We make ours circles, though I have tried a rectangle pattern before.  We also make ours with one side cotton, one side scrubbie, though I have made them before where they were totally scrubbie no cotton.  I like to try out a bunch of different things and decide what I prefer.

So we make one circle of each – yarn and netting.  I will share the basics of how we make ours, but without specific numbers since I didn’t make this pattern myself. We start by making a chain and hooking it into a circle.

42

43

Next we chain 3 (counts as first dc) and then we double crochet all around.

44

45

Then we do that again for another round around the circle.

46

47

This is my favorite size, with the two rows of dc.  But sometimes we make them with a third row of dc.  We leave a long tail on the cotton for sewing together.

48

Then we sew the two pieces together.  Sometimes we use a whip-stitch, sometimes a running stitch.  I think I prefer the running stitch.

50

51

And ta-da!  You have a scrubbie.  It takes less than 30 minutes once you get the hang of it.

52

53

54

55

Now for the fun part!  I have a give-away for you all!

First I want to be sure to say that The Tulle Shed did not give me anything or ask me to do this blog post.  I contacted them because I loved their starter kit so much and asked if they would donate a starter kit for me to giveaway on my blog.  And they did.  I wanted to tell you all about their store simply because I was very happy with their product and customer service and wanted to share that.  They had nothing to do with it except agreeing to donate the starter kit when asked.

So, who wants to have their own Deluxe Crochet Scrubbie Starter Kit?  Below is the picture of what I will be giving away from The Tulle Shed.  It includes two spools of netting (one cut, one not), one ball of cotton yarn, a crochet hook, yarn needles, and 3 patterns for making scrubbies.

2I love the colors that she chose to send for this kit!

If you want to win this starter kit just leave a comment below.  In your comment tell me about what your experience is with crochet (this wont effect the results, it is just to give you something to comment about).  Anyone, anywhere can enter.  This drawing will be open until midnight on Friday, October 4th.  On Saturday, October 5th, we will randomly draw a name and announce the winner.

Shared on the Homestead Barn Hop

16 thoughts on “Crochet Dish Scrubbies & a Giveaway….AGAIN

  1. I use to make crocheted baby sweaters etc, all the time! Now retired, time on my hands and would love to do something practical like this to give away. Just need something like this to get me started again. Hate to spend the money (so little on SS) without trying it first.

    Like

  2. I also crochet scrubbies to giveaway at Christmas. I put them on wooden skewers covered with green floral tape and made a bouquet of flowers for a bridal shower. Guests each took a flower or scrubbie home. These are a unique useful gift for men and women. They are great for sanding walled, removing glue from bottles and much more. I have shared the pattern with others who see me ctocheting in doctors’s offices or oyher public places. Your farm looks like a great adventure for your family.

    Like

  3. I learned to crochet from my grandmother & my moma years ago only made blankets, booties , & animals blankets lol but my sister in law bought me one of thes scrubbers at a flea market & it’s getting so old cause it’s my favorite to use & your instructions & pictures make it look so easy! Will be trying but the kit would be great to win ! Thanks for making it look easy !!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

