A Good Cause & 4 Month Lid Check

First, let me do my 4-month lid check for you all.

All 10 of my remaining canned items using the Tattler Reusable Canning Lids, that were canned 4 months ago, are still sealed. Furthermore, some of them were taken out during the evacuation and then brought back in and they stayed sealed with all that rough handling too! And, just for the record, all the other jars I have canned since then, both water bath and pressure canning, are still sealed as well.

This is my last lid check, since I was testing out the statements made about the lids coming unsealed during storage up to four months later. I am thoroughly convinced that these lids work just as well as metal lids, with the huge added benefit of them being reusable. And I plan to continue using them for all my home canning except when I plan to give my canned items as gifts.

Now, on to a great cause…

Tattler Reusable Canning Lids is putting out a limited edition pink lid during the month of October. 35% of sales of the pink lids will be donated to the Munson Medical Center Women’s Cancer Fund. This fund helps women with cancer pay their medical bills.

I was given an opportunity to have a sneak peek at the pink lids. The scientist in me said I definitely needed to try them out, to be sure they worked just as well. Not to mention I wanted to add some pink color to the pantry. 😉

I decided despite our current circumstances with the disaster, it would be nice to do something “normal” and fun, and canning is very fun to us. So we dove in!

Since our water is limited right now because of the disaster, I decided pressure canning would be a better choice. So I pressure canned some beans and carrots from the garden yesterday.

I did one quart and one pint of each vegetable, using wide mouth and regular lids of each color, pink and the traditional white. All four sealed with no issues!

9

Head on over to Tattler’s website to see the pink lids and to read more about the cause. October is a great month to buy these lids and help out women with cancer.

One thought on “A Good Cause & 4 Month Lid Check

Leave a Reply

