Another Day in the Middle of a Disaster

Today was hard.

The emotions of all of this really hit me last night.  I didn’t sleep much.  I woke up with very little motivation to get out of bed.  A good friend texted me to check on me and through a discussion she coaxed me back into real life.  She pulled me up by my bootstraps (as my mom would say).  Then my sister came and visited.  We cried together and got mad and got sad and just vented how this all feels.  It was good.  It reminded me that we are loved.

Despite all that I still broke down crying several random moments today.  I think this is a normal way to process it all.  I think this is expected in this situation.  I don’t know.

With the help of many friends we were able to bring out all the animals from the farm yesterday.  And we found a place for the chicks, they are there now.  The rabbits are currently in the garage where we are staying.  It is less than ideal.  But we have found a long-term place for them to stay as well, it is just a matter of getting them there.

We are hoping to hike back in one more time to bring out a few final necessities that got overlooked (like my son’s retainer).  We also want to clean up some – empty the fridge and freezers, get out anything that will rot.  By get out I probably mean put it out for the scavengers to eat, I’m not sure how much we will be able to really take with us.  I’m hoping to pick what I can from the garden – there are hundreds of carrots ready (we already picked the squash and most of the beans).  And we will check on the basement flooding (yes, the basement flooded during all of this) and clean up any mess from that to try to prevent mold.

Lastly, we need to winterize the place.  The first frost will be quickly upon us and without any utilities the house is going to freeze this winter and we don’t want broken pipes on top of everything else.  So we have to drain pipes and stuff.

There are still very few answers as to what will happen and how long it will be.  They were saying 8 weeks.  They are now saying 3-9 months before we can get back in and live there.  Many people are giving up.  Many people don’t have much choice because they have nothing left.  Many are choosing to leave and make a new start somewhere else.

We can’t imagine anything we want more than to be back at our homestead living our happy, adventurous, farm life.  We will do everything we can to get back to that.  Yes, we have lost some ground along this journey, and we might lose more before this disaster is over, but we are going to keep fighting to live this dream.

9 thoughts on “Another Day in the Middle of a Disaster

  1. I’m so glad all the animals are safe. Living things deserve so much more care and concern than the inanimate objects – they can, and will be replaced.

    It sounds like you have some amazing friends and a large support network. I hope that continues to lighten your load.

    Your last sentence is wonderful – you have been living your dream and you’ll be back in it with some scary memories, some hard work and even more appreciation for your abilities and your lives. Cry when you need to but keep thinking of what your life will look like in 5 years and realize this is going to pass.

    Like

  2. Hi there,
    I have been lurking around your blog for the last couple of months. I am in tears as I read your last couple of posts…I had no idea! I have my wordpress reader set-up to deliver your posts weekly, on Thursdays, so of course I have completely missed this tragedy of yours until now. Please know we are praying for you and your family-and your homestead!! You have been such an inspiration to my husband and me-and I thought now would be a great time to “introduce” myself and share with you how your blog has blessed my family of five. We recently moved from a suburban lifestyle north of Denver to a six-acre farm in Monument, Colo. We went from having two fish, no yard and a huge house to six acres, an old, small house, two barn cats, two bunnies, three chickens, three ducks and one horse all in the last month and a half! Honestly-when I would read your blog and all that you do I was amazed at how you managed it all. It has given me the confidence to try out this homestead/farming idea-something this Southern California girl never thought she’d do!! I even had the thought-in the midst of all of this rain, “What if we had to evacuate? What would we do with all the animals?”. And here you are-living that fear that I had. (and I only have a handful of barnyard friends!). Please know that even in the midst of this struggle God is using you to effect lives-specifically the life of our family in Monument. Thank you for being so transparent here. I will share your news with my family tonight and we will lift you up to our Heavenly Father-as only He knows how to bring comfort to you. Please let us know if we can help you in anyway at all! My email: TrueMountainFarm at gmail dot com

    Like

  3. I too am very glad that you were able to bring your animals out and find places for them to stay, and I’m also very inspired that you are holding tight to your dreams. Keep hanging in there! ❤

    Like

    • Thank you. We actually tried this a few years ago with a very deep mulching but they still all froze solid and were ruined. Our winters get to -30 degrees several times each winter. Its just too cold here. But thanks for giving us suggestions, we need them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

