Soil, Cow, Pullet, and Hatch Updates…and some Knitting too!

There is so much going on around here that needed to be updated.  And if I were to give each one their own post it would take me a week to post them all, and by then everything would have changed and need to be re-updated.  😉  So this is a jam-packed update on pretty much everything at Willow Creek Farm.

The Soil Disaster

It looks like the flooding is working!  I had to run the sprinkler for 3 solid hours the first evening before it soaked down to a depth of about 2 inches.  Then I did it 1 hour the next morning, 1/2 hour that evening, and will continue that cycle of 1 hour in the morning and 1/2 hour in the evening.  When I do that I am able to keep the soil wet to a depth of about 2-3 inches down.

Today, after only 3 days of keeping it damp, we already have many new pea plants sprouting!  And…

2

Do you know what that is!?  It is my FIRST bean sprout!  After only three days of the soaking/drowning of the soil we’ve got our first bean sprout.  So exciting!

We will keep up with this and hope that we have carrot and more bean sprouts popping up very soon too.

Now, even if they sprout and grow, we might be too late in our very-short-season to actually grow anything.  But at least we will know we solved the mystery.  And knowing what the problem was makes it so that this same problem wont happen again in our garden.

Selling the Cow

We have sold Charlotte.  She will be leaving the farm later in July.  Just in time for the JLow (Miniature Jersey x Lowline) cow we have purchased to arrive in early August.  We are sad to see her go, but also excited about the new miniature cow as well.  We feel comfortable with the home she is getting and feel like she we will be very well taken care of.

Pullets

Several of the pullets are laying now!  I am guessing we have 8-10 out of 19 laying at this point.  I have gotten 7 pullet eggs 3 days in a row now.

When they first start laying, pullets lay small eggs.  We have seen many different versions of small eggs over the years but this one takes the prize for the tiniest, and roundest egg we have ever seen from a chicken.

egg photoIn the carton we have store-bought large eggs and then a bunch of the small pullet eggs, and the teeny tiny brown one.

Our Second Incubation and Hatch

Our second incubation has reached 18 days – that means lock down.  This is a batch of our friends’ eggs that they bred from their own breeding stock.  They will be keeping all the chicks after the hatch.

So we have increased the humidity, stopped the turner, and now we wait in excitement for these little ones to hatch.  Hatching day should be Monday, unless any come early.

Knitting

And lastly, I have actually been able to do a little knitting during the heat of the day when I don’t have a million other things to work on.  I have started a scarf, using some very soft lamb-belly wool.  I’m excited to get it done and feel the super-softness wrapped around my neck!

1

New Project – Sheep!

Today we spent the day at the sheep farm learning, having fun, and in the end selecting and bringing home our two newest additions to the farm.  In the next couple of days I will do a whole post all about the ewes.  I’m so excited to share!

4 thoughts on “Soil, Cow, Pullet, and Hatch Updates…and some Knitting too!

  1. I am so glad you got the garden sorted out. And I hope you’ll get something out of it. We had a tiny egg like that not too long ago. It only had a white in it, no yolk. I think sometimes the hens just have misfires.

    Like

  2. I’ll miss Charlotte – she was beautiful. But I’m sure she’ll be happy in her new home and I can’t wait to see JLow.

    Well done with the watering. It’s great it’s not all a write-off this year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

