Strawberry Patch

Today we planted the first plants at the farm!  Strawberries.

I have always dreamed of having a patch of berries to nibble from through the summer, and even possibly have enough make it to the kitchen to be made into something scrumptious.  At our old house, during the third spring we were there, I was walking along where the driveway met the patio and there, coming up between two cracks in the cement, was a wild strawberry plant.  Because of its location, I was able to break away the old cement around it, build a bit of a raised bed, and add dirt to it.  I was so excited to have my first strawberry patch!  That next year it was really thriving with its new dirt and protected area, and it had multiplied very well.  And then we moved.  😦

I have been back to the old house this spring and the strawberry patch is doing even better and spreading and growing more.  I hope it blesses the new owners with some delicious treats!

When we first started landscaping the back yard last summer and deciding where we would put the coop, the kids’ playset and playhouse, and the garden, I specifically set aside an area to be the designated strawberry patch.  We were too late in the season to get to it last year, but I have been working on preparing it this spring and it was finished today and we planted our strawberry plants!  I am so excited!

103_0139It may not look like much now, but I can picture it in my head as those plants start to fill in all the empty space and make us a nice, productive, berry patch.

Because all that I’ve ever successfully grown (or maybe just tended) in our area was wild strawberries, I wasn’t exactly sure what type to get.  I went to a very popular garden nursery in our area and was able to speak to the owner and he was very knowledgable on the subject.  This particular nursery is in a slightly different climate than we are, being much lower in elevation, but he knew our area and elevation and was able to direct me to what he said would be the best option for us.  I got two different types, just in case one is happier here than the other.  I and SO hopeful that they will grow and thrive!

It felt so nice to be gardening again after skipping last season because of the move.  I just love growing food for our family.  It is so satisfying.

The garden construction is coming along nicely.  The beds are filled with dirt now, and the fence is half-finished as far as elk/deer/rabbit security goes.  We are planning to plant in there on Saturday, and we are all looking forward to it.

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Patch

Leave a Reply

