Snow, Knitting, Tatting, and Planning

Yes indeed, we are still getting snow here.  It might make me frustrated since I am anxious to get the garden built and ready for planting, but with the draught I just can’t complain at all.  We NEED the moisture.  I would much rather get behind on the garden than risk being evacuated for a wildfire.  Can you imagine trying to evacuate a farm?  Especially with no livestock trailer?  I don’t even want to think about it.

In addition to the needed moisture, it is so beautiful.  I live in such an amazingly beautiful place.  We get close to 300 days of sunshine here.  So even if it is freezing and snowing we usually still have blue sky (not when it is actually in the process of snowing of course).  Blue sky and fresh white snow everywhere is breathtaking.  I took some photos yesterday of the scenery around our house.

103_0036 103_0033 103_0037

In addition to chores and homeschooling, the snow and cold temps (1F yesterday morning) have given me a great opportunity to sit by the fire and work on my knitting and tatting projects.  I was even able to finish three different projects that have been dragging on for a while.

First, cross bookmarks tatted for the girls.  My skills definitely still need some work, but this is only my second and third tatted projects ever.  I end up really not liking the purple pattern, but I really like the pink pattern and will probably make more of that pattern.  I got these patterns from the book “The Complete Book of Tatting” by Rebecca Jones.

103_0006 103_0012

And I finished the mitts I’ve been working on for quite a while.  This pattern is called “Susie Rogers’ Reading Mitts” by Susie Rogers (though I didn’t follow the pattern exactly) and I used Malabrigo Finito yarn, which is oh-so-soft.  I love them, they are so soft and comfy.  103_0023 103_0026

I also have been surrounded by my stacks of library books on gardening, my calculator, a notebook, my garden binder, and a calendar.  I am researching and trying to plan our garden for this year.  We are going to try a few new techniques, including mulching – which we have never done before.  From what I read we have to be careful with mulching in our climate because we can end up freezing our plants by blocking the heat from the ground from them.  So it will be a mulching balancing act.  We are also going to try a few different types of vegetables than we ever have.  I have mostly stuck with what I know I can successfully grow and then I grow a lot of it and preserve it.  This year I’d like to try out a few new things and see if we can add anything to the successful growing list.

The best books I’ve been looking at have been ones focused on cold climate gardening.  They have so many great tips and tricks.  The regular gardening books rarely have information that actually pertains to our climate.  I love this quote from High Altitude Western Gardening by Marilynn Quinn:

“Optimists.  That’s what vegetable gardeners who live in unforgiving climates must be.”

So true.

8 thoughts on “Snow, Knitting, Tatting, and Planning

  1. It’s so strange to read about what you do in your climate – really, we could be on different planets. Mulch here is important to keep the ground cool and stop the roots of vegetables from baking in the sun. I guess it follows that letting the sun hit the soil would work to warm the plants.

    I’ve seen people put stones and/or bricks half-buried in the ground where they want to attract heat to plants. The stones warm up during the day and hold the heat over night. I apparently helps with growing tropical plants like bananas outside their normal zone. Do you do anything like that in your area?

    Like

Leave a Reply

