Knitting Needle Storage Case

I was somehow able to tear myself away from the adorable bunnies in the barn long enough to get some sewing done today.  The fact that it is 15F and there is 6 inches of new snow on the ground helped.  It’s always wonderful to sit down at the sewing machine in a cozy house when it is cold outside.

My youngest daughter has a gift.  She is AMAZINGLY talented at handiwork.  I am not just being a proud mama (though I am one for sure).

She began hand-sewing and embroidery work when she was 3 years old.  I am not kidding.  She would always sit with me when I was doing handiwork and watch.  She started constantly asking if she could try.  Finally, I decided to let her start learning with a plastic needle and plastic mesh.  She learn SO quickly.  She moved on from that to a dull embroidery needle with aida cloth, and then on to fabric.  By the time she was 4 she was doing embroidery pieces better than your average adult.  It is truly a gifting she has.

100_7812

She embroidered this right after she turned 4-years-old. I drew the horses on with a blue fabric pen and then she did all the embroidery on her own.

Last fall she asked to learn crochet and knitting.  She learned them just as quickly and for her 6th birthday wanted to get some needles and hooks of her own.  Her grandparents gave her a few different needle sizes and crochet hooks.  She was SO excited!

Now that she has her own needles she has requested that I make her a knitting needle case like the one I have for myself so she can organize and store her needles.  So I decided to make it this weekend, and make one for her sister as well, who has a few needles of her own.  I love this needle case design so much I thought I would share it with you all.  It’s a very convenient way to store needles.  Before I had mine I was going crazy trying to figure out what to do with all my needles.

I take no credit for this case pattern.  I found the pattern free online somewhere years ago and I don’t know where.  I have probably tweaked it over the years as I have made them several times for friends and family, but the idea was not mine.

Also, I have never written out a pattern like this before, so bear with me and feel free to ask questions in the comments if I am not being clear enough.

100_9158 100_9159

To make one case you will need about 1 yard of fabric, more than 1 yard if the fabric has nap, you can get away with less if you are really good at creatively cutting.  You will also need 1 1/3 yards coordinating single-fold bias tape, and 29 inches of coordinating ribbon.

First you cut your pieces.  It is best if you have a rotary cutter and mat to get it nice and straight and square, but scissors will do if you draw it out carefully.  You need to cut:

  • 2 pieces at 15.5 inches by 20 inches
  • 1 at 15.5 inches by 11.5 inches
  • 1 at 15.5 inches by 8.5 inches
  • 1 at 15.5 inches by 5.5 inches

102_9896

Next, iron out your bias tape flat.  Then fold it in half and iron it again to press a nice fold in it.

Then, take the 11.5, 8.5, and 5.5 inch pieces and sew the bias tape along the top 15.5 inch long edges of them with a 1/4-inch seam allowance.

102_9902

Fold the hem over with the seam allowance towards the fabric, press, and top stitch.

102_9908

Now, lay the 11.5 and 8.5 inch pieces over the 20 inch piece, smallest on top down to largest on bottom, lining up the bottom edges.  Pin in place.  Using a ruler, mark a vertical line 1 3/4 inches from the left side.  Repeat the line every 1.5 inches across.  I use a fabric pen that disappears when it gets wet.

102_9911

Starting with the center line, sew each line, through all three pieces of fabric, back stitching a bit at the top of each pocket for extra strength.

102_9916

Now, lay the 5.5-inch piece over the others, lining up the bottom edges.  Mark out pocket lines that match up with the pockets behind it, except on every-other pocket make the pocket twice as wide.  So you will end up with lines at 1.75, then a 3 inch pocket, then a 1.5 inch pocket, then a 3-inch, then a 1.5 inch, then 3, then 1.75.  Sew these pocket lines through all the fabric, back stitching at the top of the pocket for extra strength.

102_9920 102_9926

Take your ribbon and fold it in half.  Pin it with the fold along the right edge right below the top edge of the second row of pockets.

102_9928

Take your last piece of 15.5 x 20 inch fabric and place it right sides together with what you’ve sewn.  Pin it in place with the edges lined up and be sure the ends of the ribbon are out of the way of the pinning and the sewing that you are going to do (they will be inside currently).

Sew around the whole thing with a 1/4-inch seam allowance, leaving a 4-inch gap for turning.  I like to taper the edges of the top of my case as seen in this picture, I do this during this step.

102_9935

Trim the corners.  Turn the case right-side-out and top stitch all the way around all edges, being sure to close the gap that was left for turning.  Fold the top edge down 4.5 inches and press.

You now have a case that can hold all your sizes and lengths of knitting needles!  The wide front pockets are great for circulars, the taller pockets are for the longer needles.  You put your needles in the pockets, fold down the top flap, roll the case up, and tie it.  It is easy to take in your knitting bag if you want or to store with your yarns and other materials.

102_9949 102_9953 102_9954 102_9955

This pattern could be very easily adjusted to suit whatever needles someone has.  If you have a bunch of circulars you could make all the pockets the wide pockets and have a whole case for your circulars and a separate case for your straights.  I don’t have a ton of needles, so for now my case holds all of mine – circular, dpn, and straights.

While working on these two cases for my girls I had some extra fabric left and decided to design a case for crochet hooks.  You can find that pattern here.

Hope you enjoy the pattern!

6 thoughts on “Knitting Needle Storage Case

  1. Love it!!! I totally want (and need) one! And those fabrics are delightful! I wish I could sew. Maybe I’ll pass this along to my seamstress sister, with a hint about a birthday wish. 😉

    Like

  2. My sister is excited about making me one! I’m so stoked! She is also going to do something similar for her kids to store art materials. Thanks again for taking the time to post the pattern!

    Like

Leave a Reply

