Learning to Tat

Tatting, sometimes called Shuttle Lace, is something I have wanted to learn for several years now.

A few weeks ago I was going through some of the things given to me by my grandmother from her sewing room.  In it I found a box full of shuttles and all different sizes and colors of thread for tatting.  There was also some half-finished projects that my grandmother was working on.  What a treasure!

So I decided it was time to learn, especially now that I had all I needed.  I got a couple of books from the library, and I watched some videos online.  In no time at all I was tatting!  The stitches are quite simple once you get the hang of it.  The harder part is making sure all the picots are the right size to make a really even and nice piece of work.

Here is my first finished tatting project, a cross bookmark:

102_9762

I’m planning to make some more bookmarks so I can continue to learn the skills.  Then I would like to try to do some pretty tatted edging on some handkerchiefs I found in my grandmother’s tatting box.

2 thoughts on “Learning to Tat

  1. Your grandmother would be thrilled you’re picking up and using her tools. And in the end you get satisfaction and a gorgeous book mark. I’ve never thought of tatting before but you make it sound so nice I just might give it a go (some day, when I have time, and I get organised and…. 🙂 )

    Like

Leave a Reply

