Remodeled Rabbitry

We have finished the remodel of our rabbitry!  I love the results.  It takes up less space, is warmer for the rabbits, and is much easier to clean.

We originally had them in stacked cages:

102_8626The major problem with these cages was that my husband was the only one who could handle cleaning them.  The metal trays are about 36×30 and when full of shavings and the pee and poo they are way too heavy and awkward for me or my son to handle.  So we started looking for another way to do it.  We found this idea at 24 Carrot Rabbitry blog.

Here is the new rabbitry:

102_9319The cages are wall mounted three across in two rows.  Under the cages is a slanted metal-covered shelf that runs into a gutter.  So the pee and poo goes down the shelf and into the gutter.  The gutter runs down to a big garbage bin (top row), and a shallow plastic dish (bottom row). 102_9320Each day we take a squeegee and run it down all the shelves, pulling down extra poo and hay that is stuck.  Then we put on a rubber glove and run our hand down the gutter, again pulling anything that is stuck or blocking it up down the gutter and into the container.

It is so easy to manage and I am very glad for the new set-up!

The one downfall is that on the very very cold days everything is freezing to the metal and we can’t clean it until it thaws.  But that has been rare.

By the way, the reason it is red is because it was leftover materials from a job site.  I don’t mind the color as much as I thought I would.  It actually kind of brightens up that area.

We really like to build things with free materials when we can.  And with my husband working in construction it has been amazing what we are able to get leftover from job sites – materials that are otherwise headed for the dumpster.  In my old house I had a granite tile bathroom counter because someone told him they didn’t want to return the 8 tiles that were leftover to the store for a refund.  They just said to just throw 8, 12-inch GRANITE TILES away!  It was crazy.  So he asked if he could keep them, and they said yes, and my bathroom was beautiful.

I can’t wait to show you the new chicken coop when it is finished – my husband is building it almost completely from free materials!

Leave a Reply

